How to update multiple accounts at once

Support / help / discussion forum for twitter bot
yuukiki
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2021 9:14 am

How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by yuukiki »

For example, if I want to update "Name" of 3 checked accounts, how can I do it in bulk?

☑account1
☑account2
☑account3

↓ Update Accounts↓
Dave
Rob
Pete

I want to do a bulk update in order, instead of using spintax to update randomly.
Is there any way to do this, such as bulk importing?
User avatar
martin@rootjazz
Site Admin
Posts: 34627
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:06 pm
Location: The Funk
Contact:

Re: How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by martin@rootjazz »

goto UPDATE ACCOUNTS tab
check the accounts
Enter the data into the controls
Create the action / Run the action.


The idea of bulk update is it will update the accounts, but there order is unknown. If you want nameA for a specific account, you will need to do it one by one
yuukiki
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2021 9:14 am

Re: How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by yuukiki »

I sometimes update a large number of accounts, and it takes a long time to update them one by one.

Is it possible to add a bulk update function by importing into the UPDATE ACCOUNTS tab?

This would be very helpful.
User avatar
martin@rootjazz
Site Admin
Posts: 34627
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:06 pm
Location: The Funk
Contact:

Re: How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by martin@rootjazz »

yuukiki wrote: Thu Jun 03, 2021 1:19 am I sometimes update a large number of accounts, and it takes a long time to update them one by one.

Is it possible to add a bulk update function by importing into the UPDATE ACCOUNTS tab?

This would be very helpful.
So you want to specify EXACTLY, which account gets which new username , name , website, location, bio?

Rather than just using the list input controls, where you enter a list of usernames, list of names etc etc and having them selected at random?

If that is what you want, how is that quicker (to prepare an import text file mapping account to details) than just selecting one account, entering the details and clicking update? It would take about the same time.

Unless I am misunderstanding something, which is likely :-)



Regards,
Martin
yuukiki
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2021 9:14 am

Re: How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by yuukiki »

I want to update the name, website, location, and bio in bulk based on the new username.

I'm using Google Spreadsheet to manage it, so if I can import it, I won't have to copy and paste from the spreadsheet to the app.
User avatar
martin@rootjazz
Site Admin
Posts: 34627
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:06 pm
Location: The Funk
Contact:

Re: How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by martin@rootjazz »

yuukiki wrote: Sat Jun 05, 2021 2:27 am I want to update the name, website, location, and bio in bulk based on the new username.

I'm using Google Spreadsheet to manage it, so if I can import it, I won't have to copy and paste from the spreadsheet to the app.
OK, I understand, let me see what I can do
User avatar
martin@rootjazz
Site Admin
Posts: 34627
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:06 pm
Location: The Funk
Contact:

Re: How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by martin@rootjazz »

Next update will let you specify a csv file with the format:

Code: Select all

username,name,website,location,new_username,avatar,header,bio
select the accounts to update, then the program will map the first variable [username] to the username of the selected accounts and assign the new values


example

Code: Select all

acc_1,John Smith,,London,,,,This is the bio for johnsmith, where I will put some information
acc_2,Dave Smith,https://rootjazz.com/,London,,c:\images\avatar.jpg,c:\images\header.jpg,This is the bio for johnsmith, where I will put some information

Note, if you want to update the username, set new_username, otherwise leave blank

Example updating acc_2 to acc_2_updated username

Code: Select all

acc_2,Dave Smith,https://rootjazz.com/,London,acc_2_updated,c:\images\avatar.jpg,c:\images\header.jpg,This is the bio for johnsmith, where I will put some information



Also, if you do not care which account get the updates, you can use

Code: Select all

name,website,location,new_username,avatar,header,bio
This will just assign one line each selected account
User avatar
martin@rootjazz
Site Admin
Posts: 34627
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:06 pm
Location: The Funk
Contact:

Re: How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by martin@rootjazz »

yuukiki
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2021 9:14 am

Re: How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by yuukiki »

Thank you! I didn't expect it to be developed so quickly. It is very helpful.


So I've been using it and have a question.

I was able to update successfully in this case with no problem.
"Also, if you do not care which account get the updates, you can use
name,website,location,new_username,avatar,header,bio"


However, when updating based on username, the order of items such as name, website, location, etc. are different and could not be updated correctly.
username,name,website,location,new_username,avatar,header,bio

What's wrong with my way of doing things?
User avatar
martin@rootjazz
Site Admin
Posts: 34627
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:06 pm
Location: The Funk
Contact:

Re: How to update multiple accounts at once

Post by martin@rootjazz »

yuukiki wrote: Sun Jun 06, 2021 6:35 am
I was able to update successfully in this case with no problem.
"Also, if you do not care which account get the updates, you can use
name,website,location,new_username,avatar,header,bio"
:-)

However, when updating based on username, the order of items such as name, website, location, etc. are different and could not be updated correctly.
username,name,website,location,new_username,avatar,header,bio

What's wrong with my way of doing things?
Not sure I understand what you mean here
, the order of items such as name, website, location, etc
The order is the same, just you need to specify which account you want to map to (should be the same)

Can you provide more details on what exactly was wrong. Send me the file you are trying to update from, email if private

Code: Select all

support[at]rootjazz[dot]com
Post Reply