Cannot generate cookies manually because web browser will not open

Ask any support / help / issues / problem or question related to Soundcloud Manager
Post Reply
derejrcar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:40 pm

Cannot generate cookies manually because web browser will not open

Post by derejrcar » Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:47 pm

Hello Rootjazz community,

I am having trouble with generating cookies manually. My accounts will not login/start action, and I get the debug message "If captcha required, please generate cookies manually". Next, I try to generate cookies manually.

When I click "Browser login - Generate Cookies" the SCM pop-up comes with instructions, but my web browser will not open.

Please assist.

User avatar
martin@rootjazz
Site Admin
Posts: 17921
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:06 pm
Location: The Funk
Contact:

Re: Cannot generate cookies manually because web browser will not open

Post by martin@rootjazz » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:07 pm

please try this

https://soundcloudmanager.com/updatetesting.html


Also for ease of use, you may want to consider purchasing captcha credit to allow (if captchas are indeed the issue) to automatically solve the captchas.

More info on solving captchas here and how to purchase
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3896

derejrcar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:40 pm

Re: Cannot generate cookies manually because web browser will not open

Post by derejrcar » Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:52 pm

Martin -

I'm already using 2captcha and it works great (when the account successfully starts). Let me try this fix.

derejrcar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:40 pm

Re: Cannot generate cookies manually because web browser will not open

Post by derejrcar » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:53 pm

The new version works! Once I updated to the new version, I had to install Google Chrome in order to get the browser to open.

User avatar
martin@rootjazz
Site Admin
Posts: 17921
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:06 pm
Location: The Funk
Contact:

Re: Cannot generate cookies manually because web browser will not open

Post by martin@rootjazz » Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:59 pm

derejrcar wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:53 pm
The new version works! Once I updated to the new version, I had to install Google Chrome in order to get the browser to open.
Yes, sorry I should have said.

But if you have captcha credits then it should not be necessary. Can you submit logs so I can investigate

Post Reply